CDMA Technology
Members Sign-In
CDG Press Releases

LEADING INFRASTRUCTURE SUPPLIERS TO DISCUSS HOW CDMA2000 IS ENABLING THE CONVERGENCE OF INDUSTRIES

CDMA Development Group to Host Live Web Cast on May 20:
“The Convergence of Industries: How CDMA2000 Networks are Evolving to Meet Future Consumer and Business Needs”

WHAT:

Leading CDMA2000® infrastructure provider executives will participate in a live Web cast hosted by the CDMA Development Group (CDG) (www.cdg.org) to discuss how several major revenue-generating industries are extending their customer reach by delivering their services within the wireless world through key advancements in the CDMA2000 core network, radio network and service enabler functions.

Key topics to be discussed during the Web cast include:

  • How several previously independent industries are converging within the wireless space by using mobile networks to extend the delivery of their services
  • Enhancements to the core network to enable convergence:
    • IMS (IP multimedia subsystem)
    • FMC (fixed-mobile convergence)
    • QoS (Quality of service)
  • Extending coverage:
    • Femtocells and their business case
    • Radio Access Network (RAN) interoperability
  • Delivering advanced applications and services:
    • Mobile television
    • VoIP (Voice over IP)
    • PtX (push-to-X)
    • User Generated Content (UGC)
    • Other low latency applications
    • Concurrent services
  • Market trends and implications for operators
WHO:

David Chamberlain, Principal Analyst at In-Stat, will moderate the discussion featuring the following participants:

  • Amit Jain, Vice President and General Manager of In-Building Networks, Airvana
  • Indranil Chatterjee, Director of Wireless Strategy and Business Development, Alcatel-Lucent
  • Bastian Schoell, Senior Manager, Carrier Networks Marketing, Nortel
  • Joe Lawrence, Vice President of Marketing, CDMA Development Group

The CDMA Development Group is a trade association formed to foster the worldwide development, implementation and use of CDMA2000 technologies. The more than 130 member companies of the CDG include many of the world’s largest wireless carriers and equipment manufacturers. The primary activities of the CDG include development of CDMA2000 features and services, public relations, education and seminars, regulatory affairs and international support. Currently, there are more than 500 individuals working within various CDG subcommittees on CDMA2000-related matters.

WHEN:

May 20, 2008 – Live Web cast will last approximately one hour with an opportunity to submit questions online. Web cast will begin at 8:30 a.m. PDT, or 11:30 a.m. EDT, 3:30 p.m. GMT, 5:30 p.m. (Johannesburg, South Africa), 9:00 p.m. (New Delhi, India)

WHERE:

Participation is limited and pre-registration is required. Contact the CDG News Bureau at +1-714-540-1030, or cdg@bockpr.com to obtain information on the Web cast and to register for the event.

# # #