CDMA Technology
Members Sign-In
CDG Press Releases

LEADING CDMA2000 OPERATORS DISCUSS FUTURE OF 3G

CDMA Development Group Hosts a Live Web Cast on the “Future of the CDMA2000 Industry: Operators’ Insight”

WHAT: Leading CDMA2000® operators will be participating in a Web cast hosted by the CDMA Development Group (CDG) (www.cdg.org) to discuss the future of 3G. CDMA2000 is the most advanced and widely deployed 3G technology today. The technology’s evolution path offers operators a two-to-three year lead in the introduction of enhanced voice, multimedia and data services. The industry is on the accelerated path to advanced mobile broadband services with 89 operators who have deployed or are deploying CDMA2000 1xEV-DO. Several CDMA2000 operators have committed to deploying the next evolution within this path, 1xEV-DO Rev A, by the end of this year.
 

Key topics to be discussed during the Web cast include:

  • CDMA2000 leadership in 3G and each operator’s commitment to continue rolling out advanced voice, multimedia and broadband data services
  • Views on the existing CDMA2000 business environment and its ecosystem
  • The uptake of 1xEV-DO Release 0 broadband data services by consumers and enterprises and the demand for enhanced 3G broadband data services
  • An overview of the CDMA2000 evolution path and its progress towards delivering IP-based voice and advanced mobile broadband services
  • Commitment towards delivering CDMA2000 1xEV-DO Rev A services, which operators will deploy it, and what devices and services should be expected
WHO:

Iain Gillott , founder and president of iGR, will moderate the discussion. Operator executive participants include:

Perry LaForge , Executive Director, CDMA Development Group
Dr. Zhengmao Li , Director of the Board and Vice President, China Unicom
Steve Falk , Vice President, Global Standards, Sprint Nextel
Gerry Flynn , Director, Advanced Technology Strategy, Verizon Wireless

  The CDMA Development Group is a trade association formed to foster the worldwide development, implementation and use of CDMA technologies. The more than 130 member companies of the CDG include many of the world’s largest wireless carriers and equipment manufacturers. The primary activities of the CDG include development of CDMA features and services, public relations, education and seminars, regulatory affairs and international support. Currently, there are more than 500 individuals working within various CDG subcommittees on CDMA-related matters.
WHEN:

Friday, October 20, 2006 – “Live” Web cast will last one-hour with an opportunity to submit questions online. Web cast begins at 8:30 AM (PST), or

 

11:30 AM (EST), 12:30 PM ( Sao Paulo, Brazil), 4:30 PM (GWT),
5:30 PM ( Johannesburg, South Africa), 9:00 PM ( New Delhi, India)

WHERE: Registration: http://www.cdg.org/news/events/061020_webcast/index.asp
FOR MORE INFORMATION:

Contact the CDG News Bureau at +1 714-540-1030, or cdg@bockpr.com to obtain information on the Web cast and to register for the event.

   

# # #