CDMA Technology
Members Sign-In

CDMA Development Group Applauds Leading Companies and Individuals For Wireless Innovations

HONG KONG, June 12, 2002 - The CDMA Development Group (CDG) ( honored the accomplishments of leading companies and individuals at the 3G CDMA Industry Achievement Awards ceremony yesterday during the opening session of the 3G World Congress, being held this week at the Hong Kong Exhibition and Convention Centre. Perry LaForge, executive director of the CDG, and Stephen Cole, host of BBC World's IT show, "Click Online," presented the awards to this year's recipients.
"The CDMA community has become the leader for excellence in technology innovation as witnessed by the continued deployment of 3G wireless services across the globe," said LaForge. "The CDG congratulates this year's award recipients, and commends their dedication to making advancements in the wireless community."

This year's 3G CDMA Industry Achievement Award recipients are:

· Industry Leadership Award: Dr. Jae Byun, SK Telecom
This award is given to the individual who has provided dynamic leadership in 3G CDMA industry activities, including contributions to standards development and the growth and evolution of CDMA.

Dr. Jae Byun of SK Telecom, for leading the first commercial implementation of CDMA2000 1xEV-DO and his active promotion of CDMA's successes.

· International Leadership: KT Freetel
This award is given to the company that has contributed significantly to the expansion of 3G CDMA through system deployments.

KT Freetel, for its role as one of the first operators to commercially deploy 3G, and for bringing new and innovative services to market.

· Service Innovation: KDDI
This award is given to the operator that has leveraged the capabilities of 3G CDMA to introduce innovative and industry-leading services to the market.

KDDI, for its cutting-edge applications that are defining the future of wireless data services.

· Subscriber Technology Innovation: Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.
This award is given to the company that demonstrates forward thinking in terms of services supported and terminal design. Resulting products take advantage of the inherent benefits and latest technological developments of 3G CDMA, offering consumers state-of-the-art terminals in terms of both features and packaging.

Samsung, for its impressive array of more than 40 models of CDMA2000 1X phones and devices with advances such as color screens and cameras and for the recent announcement of the first CDMA2000 1xEV-DO phones to market.

· Infrastructure Technology Innovation: Nortel Networks and Sprint PCS
This award is given to the companies that have introduced network capabilities that allow CDMA operators flexible and cost-effective solutions for implementing advanced features and an easy solution path to further enhancements.

Nortel Networks and Sprint PCS, for pioneering Advanced Smart Antenna technology, which directly addresses cost effectiveness of infrastructure and can help operators to maximize network capacity.

· Innovative Solutions: Hewlett-Packard Company/SignalSoft Corporation/SnapTrack, A QUALCOMM Company/Sprint PCS
This award is given to the companies that have brought new ideas and different approaches to product deployment in their respective disciplines. Solutions provide value-added, cost-effective implementations for operators supporting the advancement of CDMA into the market.

Hewlett-Packard, SignalSoft, SnapTrack and Sprint PCS for the deployment of the first E911 Phase II services in the U.S. with handset-based location technology.